Runtime warnings in Python

Hi, I’m new to Python and I have some questions about how to handle runtime warnings/errors.

I have two examples originating in the same function.

RuntimeWarning: overflow encountered in power
  return d+(a-d)/(1+(x/c)**b)**g

RuntimeWarning: invalid value encountered in power
  return d+(a-d)/(1+(x/c)**b)**g

Its not really a problem as the program executes as intended. However, I would like to dump some variables if these warnings are thrown just to make sure nothing is messed up.

1. If warning is thrown
  2. print(a, b, c, d, g)
  3. Keep executing

Update

I rearranged the expression like this: (a - d) * ((c/x)**(-b) + 1)**(-g) + d and managed to avoid the overflow warning.

The Python construct for exactly what you were looking for is try...except.

The set of exceptions built-in is here: Built-in Exceptions — Python 3.12.3 documentation . For this case, you probably want to catch ArithmeticError.

Rearranging the expression to avoid the problem is better, if you can figure it out.

Edit: Now I look at it, I’m puzzled by RuntimeWarning. This rather suggests something is already catching and replacing the original overflow arithmetic exception or value error. However, with your own try...except you can get there first.

You can use the warnings module to turn the warnings into exceptions that can be caught or to collect the warnings in a list.

For example:

from warnings import catch_warnings, warn

def power():
  warn("Overflow!", RuntimeWarning)

with catch_warnings(record=True) as w:
  power()
  if w:
      print("Uh oh, we got some warnings.")
      print(w)

Note that, as the documentation points out, catch_warnings modifies global state, so it’s not safe to use if your program runs multiple threads.

1 Like

I tried the try except thing you suggested but it seem I can’t manipulate the message, nor print variables if there’s a warning thrown. I tried:

try:
        res = (a - d) * ((c/x)**(-b) + 1)**(-g) + d
    except: