RuntimeError: Failed to lock Pipfile.lock

hello, I am new to Django. While I was installing mysqlclient using the command Pipenv install mysqlclient, I get the error RuntimeError: Failed to lock Pipfile.lock. can you please help me out on solving this issue?

Hey it could be that another process is intefering with the lock… have you already activated the venv?

1 Like

Thank you very much for helping me on this.

yes i have acticated the venv as you can see below. but still i face the issue.

‘’’
chandanm@Chandans-MacBook-Air demo % pipenv shell
Launching subshell in virtual environment…
. /Users/chandanm/.local/share/virtualenvs/demo-IqFOio-m/bin/activate
chandanm@Chandans-MacBook-Air demo % . /Users/chandanm/.local/share/virtualenvs/demo-IqFOio-m/bin/activate
(demo) chandanm@Chandans-MacBook-Air demo % pipenv install mysqlclient
Installing mysqlclient…
Resolving mysqlclient…
Added mysqlclient to Pipfile’s [packages] …
:heavy_check_mark: Installation Succeeded
Pipfile.lock (e35515) out of date, updating to (537503)…
Locking [packages] dependencies…
Building requirements…
Resolving dependencies…
✘ Locking Failed!
⠴ Locking…False
ERROR:pip.subprocessor:Getting requirements to build wheel exited with 1
[ResolutionFailure]: File “/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.12/lib/python3.12/site-packages/pipenv/resolver.py”, line 645, in _main
[ResolutionFailure]: resolve_packages(
[ResolutionFailure]: File “/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.12/lib/python3.12/site-packages/pipenv/resolver.py”, line 612, in resolve_packages
[ResolutionFailure]: results, resolver = resolve(
[ResolutionFailure]: ^^^^^^^^
[ResolutionFailure]: File “/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.12/lib/python3.12/site-packages/pipenv/resolver.py”, line 592, in resolve
[ResolutionFailure]: return resolve_deps(
[ResolutionFailure]: ^^^^^^^^^^^^^