Script Search And Replace for multi lines

Hi all, i’m new in python and would like to modify this code for multiple lines…
Could someone please help me?

the code :

import re

from ..Script import Script

class SearchAndReplace(Script):

def getSettingDataString(self):
        return """{
            "name": "Search and Replace",
            "key": "SearchAndReplace",
            "metadata": {},
            "version": 2,
            "settings":
            {
                "search":
                {
                    "label": "Search",
                    "description": "All occurrences of this text will get replaced by the replacement text.",
                    "type": "str",
                    "default_value": ""
                },
                "replace":
                {
                    "label": "Replace",
                    "description": "The search text will get replaced by this text.",
                    "type": "str",
                    "default_value": ""
                },
                "is_regex":
                {
                    "label": "Use Regular Expressions",
                    "description": "When enabled, the search text will be interpreted as a regular expression.",
                    "type": "bool",
                    "default_value": false
                }
            }
        }"""

def execute(self, data):
        search_string = self.getSettingValueByKey("search")
        if not self.getSettingValueByKey("is_regex"):
            search_string = re.escape(search_string) 
        search_regex = re.compile(search_string)

replace_string = self.getSettingValueByKey("replace")

for layer_number, layer in enumerate(data):
            data[layer_number] = re.sub(search_regex, replace_string, layer) 

return data

Thx in advance