[SOLVED] Porting Python module to CPython: how to translate global scope?

Hello,

First post woo!

Let me start by pointing out that beyond very simple examples, I’m jumping off the deep end with C. I have some C# & Swift experience prior (also consider myself ~master but shy of Doctorate in pure Python) which has all helped me pick up on this pretty quickly, and I’ve already ported several functions (surprised myself with how fast I picked it up even). However, I’m stuck on this one issue pretty hard and not quite sure even how to google it (obviously have tried).

My module/extension needs some global dictionaries avaliable both in the module, and in Python.

To be very specific, from Bitbucket, I’m trying to express lines 36, 40, 44, and 47 via the CPython API. However, just putting e.g.:

PyObject* worldBlocks = PyDict_New();

in the global scope of my C does not work. The compiler throws:

world_test.c:17:25: error: initializer element is not constant

If I put the same code in a function that returns void, I get the same error. If I put it in a function that returns PyObject, then it works. This behavior baffles me, probably due to my awkward language background and overall lack of knowledge in C. Actually, I more or less understand why the above doesn’t work in C global scope, but not quite sure about why it doesn’t in a generic void function (discovered that on accident)… Anyway, still not sure how to get the dicts I need into the this mystical global land that certainly has to exist…

I’m lost on this one, which feels weird with how far I’ve come. I ported my terrain generator (Bitbucket) with relative ease!

Thanks for reading and for any insight!

Indeed. C is very restrictive about what you can initialize a global variable with. Basically you can only use a compile-time constant as initializer.

I doubt it. Please post the full code of that function.