Steering Council Nomination: Donghee Na (2024 term)

About Myself:

• I’ve been a CPython core dev from 2020 and the 10th active core dev from 2020.
  • I am the maintainer of the pyperf project and pyperformance project, and I‘ve supported adding features for the Faster-CPython project and PEP-703 project aka free-threaded CPython.
  • I have experience supporting recent hot topics of CPython, and I know what things are needed for those projects. (free-threaded / subinterpreter/ faster-cpython)
  • This year, I set up two CPython sprints in PyCon Korea and PyCon APAC to meet APAC region Python people.

If I am elected as the Steering Council member:

• I will provide all possible support for the successful completion of the PEP 703 project and for the faster-cpython project. Those projects will be a very important milestone in Python history for the next five years. I believe that my experience so far will be helpful in supporting these projects.
  • I will do my best to ensure the smooth progress of the C API Workgroup. The C API Workgroup is the central group that will make decisions about future C API design. Although discussions related to this are complicated, I will support making best-effort decisions at the appropriate time.
  • I will strive to gather the requirements for CPython from regions with few CPython core devs.

My Personal Profiles:

My Talks

17 Likes

I hope Donghee Na gets elected to SC.

Having the opportunity to conduct sprints with CPython Core developers at PyCon KR and APAC was a rare and valuable experience. As a local organizer and the only PSF Director in Asia, I express my gratitude.