Steering Council nomination: Victor Stinner (2020 term)

Hi,

I’m nominating myself for the Steering Council (2020 term). It’s hard for me to announce what I will do at part of the Steering Council, it’s easier for me to elaborate on what I’m currently doing for Python, and what I did over last years. I’m working on many aspects of Python in parallel. This message is mostly about the work I did during the last two years on Python 3.7, 3.8 and the future Python 3.9. Sorry, it’s longer than what I expected :slight_smile:

About myself

I have been a Python core developer since 2010 and one of the most active contributors in term of commits. I also read once that I’m one of the most active on bugs.python.org (more active than the bug tracker bot :slight_smile: ).

I am paid full time by Red Hat to maintain Python upstream (python.org) and downstream (Red Hat Entreprise Linux: RHEL, and Fedora).

I got 11 PEPs accepted and 10 rejected. My accepted PEPs will give you an idea of my areas of interest:

• Python Initialization Configuration (PEP 587): better C API to embed Python into an application,
  • time.time_ns() (PEP PEP 564),
  • Python Documentation Translations (PEP 545, co-written with Julien Palard and Naoki IANADA),
  • UTF-8 Mode (PEP 540),
  • Make os.urandom() blocking on Linux (PEP 524),
  • Retry system calls failing with EINTR (PEP 475, co-written with Charles-François Natali)
  • tracemalloc module (PEP 454),
  • Make newly created file descriptors non-inheritable (PEP 446),
  • time.monotonic(), time.perf_counter() and time.process_time() (PEP 418)
  • etc.

I’m trying to track some of my contributions to Python in the page: My contributions to Python.

Promote active contributors, Diversity and Community

In the last two years, I promoted 6 core developers (Joannah Nanjekye, Paul Ganssle, Stéphane Wirtel, Cheryl Sabella, Pablo Galindo Salgado, Julien Palard). I mentored most of them. I also gave the bug triage permission to 8 contributors.