Support building ssl and hashlib modules against AWS-LC

Hello,

I’m an engineer at AWS working on AWS-LC, AWS’s open-source fork of Google’s BoringSSL. We have patch sets to CPython 3.10 through tip-of-main that build CPython’s ssl and hashlib modules against AWS-LC’s libssl and libcrypto respectively. We are committed to backwards compatibility and have CI jobs (here and here) asserting every change’s compatibility with many different open-source projects. We use these tests to catch compatibility regressions before they’re merged, and we plan to add a CPython compatibility test to this suite.

AWS-LC has recently made a number of CPU-specific performance optimizations for AWS Graviton 2, AWS Graviton 3, and Intel x86-64 with AVX-512 instructions. We’ve formally verified a subset of AWS-LC’s cryptographic primitives, and continue to invest in expanding this coverage. To support meeting FIPS 140-3 compliance requirements, AWS-LC can be built in FIPS mode. To give CPython users a well-documented and supported way to take advantage of these investments in performance, correctness, and compliance, we would like to upstream support for AWS-LC into mainline CPython. We believe that this would provide the best experience for users wishing to build CPython against AWS-LC. It would also allow users to skip the (often brittle) process of maintaining and applying their own patch sets to build CPython with AWS-LC.