Survey on Python comments

Hello, my fellow pythonists! I apologize if this is not the most appropriate subforum. I need a few minutes of your time to help me conduct a survey for academic research.
I am a PhD student, studying the problem of automatically generating short descriptive comments for source code. We are looking for volunteer participants for an anonymous online survey to help us evaluate our approach against other techniques, and would really appreciate anyone who would like to participate by evaluating a range of source code comments along various quality measures. If you are at least 18 years old, comfortable reading Python documentation in English, and comfortable with the terms of the completely anonymous survey (described on the first page of the survey), you are eligible and we would greatly appreciate your responses. Thank you in advance!

UPDATE: the survey is closed now.

1 Like

Any comments that can be automatically generated are useless. The whole point of comments is to carry information that ISN’T in the code itself.

5 Likes

Well, thank you for your frank feedback on the last few years of my life :slight_smile: I am going to have to disagree with you there. There are plenty of uses for comments that are inferred from code directly. A simple example is for those who just starting study programming. A complex example is verifying that the code you wrote actually does what you expect it to do. Or producing documentation for old projects that don’t have original developers on stuff anymore and are not properly documented. There are a lot more uses, of course.

Also, I would really appreciate if you take the survey, it’s about 20 minutes long :slight_smile:

2 Likes