The 1st block gets an indentation but not the 2nd?

I am a total beginner and I thought I understood indentation.

I do not understand as to why the 1st block gets indentation but the 2nd does not?

x = “uh huh”

def myfunc():
x = “sure”
print("life is " +x)

myfunc()
print("Life is " +x) # I am looking at this print function and myfunc() directly above it. Why no indentation?
When I ‘run’ print with an indent I get an indent error…

The 1st block is indented:

x = “uh huh”

def myfunc():
x = “sure”
print("life is " +x)

We can’t see your indentation so this is hard to explain.

If you format your code in a code block, surrounded by three backticks (```), the indentation will be preserved.

x = “uh huh”

def myfunc():
    x = “sure”
print("life is " +x)

I just noticed this site did not show my indent. Here it is again

x = “uh huh”

def myfunc():
'x = “sure” (single-indent)
'print("life is " +x) (single-indent)

myfunc()
print("Life is " +x) *** NO INDENT HERE ?!***

x = “uh huh”

def myfunc():
'x = “sure” (single-indent)
'print("life is " +x) (single-indent)

please use the actual code formatting, it is very easy to do. Three backticks around the block (the key with the ~ on it, on a US keyboard). You can check the preview of your post to make sure it works.

x = “uh huh”

def myfunc():

```print("life is " +x)

myfunc()
print("Life is " +x)       (THIS BLOCK DOESN'T GET AN INDENT?) 

x = “uh huh”

def myfunc():
```x = “sure”
```print("life is " +x)

Well…an effort was made, at least :slightly_smiling_face:

Indentation is used to denote a block of code, as in the code following the function definition def myfunc(): (note the colon at the end of the line, telling us that what follows will be a new block of code)

There’s no indentation after the call to myfunc because calling a function doesn’t denote the beginning of a new block of code.

Other situations where you would indent a block are conditional statements:

if something_is_true:
    do_this_when_true()