The pros/cons of generators

This is strange request. I am not a Python developer but instead a JavaScript developer. However, Python is the only other language I know that has generators. In the JS community generators are not well received as far as I can tell.

I personally find them beautiful, easy to understand, and maintain. But when I use them in JavaScript I get lots of negative feedback. Visceral opposition and even attempts to defend my choices are summarily dismissed as poor opinion.

Since Python implemented generators long before JavaScript did I would love to hear from this community what your thoughts are on generators. Is the procedural style of yield statements, loops over iterators, and list comprehension worth the effort? Or is the functional programming style now the only path?

What technical advantages do generators offer that array methods do not? What experiences have others had using generators? Are they more a neat trick but not practical in production code? Or are they a miss-understood game changer?

Most documentation, scuttlebutt, and blogs only offer technical how to and lack any information on the why to use, when to use, and when not to use. How can I help articulate the good reasons for generators when there is very little blog posts and documentation about them?

Thanks in advance.