Trying to figure out how to get a result I want with this increment/dictionary problem

Hey, everybody. I’m new to programming and Python. In the Python Crash Course book it gives this example:

alien_0 = {'x-position': 0, 'y-position': 25, 'speed': 'medium'}
print(f'Original position: {alien_0["x-position"]}')

Move alien to the right.

Determine how far to move the alien based on it’s current speed.

if alien_0['speed'] == 'slow':
    x_increment = 1
elif alien_0['speed'] == 'medium':
    x_increment = 2
else:
    x_increment = 3

(else being fast)

The new position is the old position plus the increment

alien_0['x-position'] = alien_0['x-position'] + x_increment
print(f'New position: {alien_0['x-position']}')

The results of this is:
Original position: 0
New position: 2

At the end of this section he says I can change a medium-alien to a fast alien using this line:

alien_0['speed'] = 'fast'

"“The if-elif-else block would then assign a larger value to x-increment the next time the code runs.”

After I do this:

alien_0['x-position'] = alien_0['x-position'] + x_increment
print(f'New position: {alien_0['x-position']}')

The results are:
Original position: 0
New position: 2
New position: 4

I asked elsewhere why the increment isn’t 3, and was told in order to change the increment variable’s value (didn’t even know increment was a variable) I have to execute code to change it. I tried several things, but I don’t understand it at all. I would appreciate any help.

This code:

if alien_0['speed'] == 'slow':
    x_increment = 1
elif alien_0['speed'] == 'medium':
    x_increment = 2
else:
    x_increment = 3

sets x_increment according to the value of alien_0['speed'].

Then you change the speed of the alien with:

but this doesn’t magically change the value of x_increment.

You have to run the code that sets x_increment again.

Hi,