Tutorial about Python Packaging offering different use case (Request to Review)

Hello,

I would like to point to my Python Packaging Tutorial explaining several common use cases using minimal demo projects.

I am not an expert and assume that some of my solutions might not be the best. So I would appreciate if you can review them.

Background of that project: I am member of FOSS maintainer team and prepare the migration of Back In Time from a makefile based build-system to a modern Python Build system using pyproject.toml & Co. To explore some expect able problems and possible solutions I created this minimal examples. I also do plan a tutorial repo about Debian Python Packaging using the same approach with minimal examples illustrating different use cases.

Thanks in advance,
Christian

PS: Posted this without response also on python-list@python.org and r/pythoncoding and several other places. I was pointed to this discussion forum from the setuptools-people.

On the topic of internationalization, you have basically two approaches: either you add code to compile the MO catalogs during the sdist → wheel build, as you did, or you pre-compile them and add them to the sdist. I’ve personally used the second approach as it felt a bit simpler.

The first approach might be more elegant, but in that case I’d recommend to use babel in order to not unnecessarily require a Unixy tool on the target system where the sdist is installed.

I also see that you are mentioning python3 -m pip install .. Done outside of a virtual environment, this is not recommended, and will error out by default on recent versions of Debian, Ubuntu and other distros, since it can shadow Python packages installed by the system and thus break system packages written in Python. Either use a virtual environment, or install with pipx instead of pip. See Externally managed environments in the packaging user guide.