Typing enhancements for type checking values based on physical dimensions: Sorted

Yesterday I had an idea to create a units library tool (or add type hinting to an existing units tool, like pint) that can detect the erroneous addition and subtraction of incompatible dimensions (of unit-bearing values) at type checking time. For the purposes of engineering/scientific computing, this could be extremely powerful. Currently all such tools I know of only detect those kinds of errors at runtime. CAVEAT: I’m only a civil engineer and am in no way a professional programmer. But otoh I’ve been writing python for 10+ years now.

I am imagining some final code using that unit library could look like this:

from my_unit_library import N, m

x = 1*m
assert str(x.dimensionality) == "[Length]"
f = 3*N
assert str(f.dimensionality) == "[Length]*[Mass]/[Time]**2"

z = x + f  # type checker throws error here because the types of the dimensionality for the two values aren't compatible

The type checker would know that the dimensions for x is [Length], and the dimensions of y is [Length]*[Mass]/[Time]**2 (which is a force), and that you can’t add those two unlike dimensionalities together.

I tried to write a proof of concept of this idea, but I think it isn’t possible with current python type checking tech.

Such a tool would need to know how to combine dimensions correctly when they are multiplied and divided. And it would need to know that order doesn’t matter when comparing dimensionality; for example, Mass X Length is the same as Length X Mass.

Thinking through it, I think all of this could be possible of there were some new type checking tools/“functions” added to typing. I’ll go over that at the end. First more about the motivation.

The idea behind all of this is one could create some kind of DimMultiply and also some kind of DimDivide type, so that you can write code like this (using 3.12 type hint syntax):

class Dimensionality[T]: