Updating Python under /usr/bin/python3

I am very new to the python and MAC world, we are currently running into an issue with updating the product under usr/bin/python directory. By only updating the python 3 product does not update under this directory. By any chance you could give me some direction of resolving the updating issue? Thanks

Welcome!

Its not really clear from the limited information above what you want to do, nor what you’ve actually tried, nor what OS or Python version you are on (as this differs greatly between different recent macOS versions).

In general, you should avoid touching the system Python (/usr/bin/pythonX), and install your own copy (via Python.org, Homebrew, Anaconda, etc). Also, note, unless they changed it in the latest macOS versions, usr/bin/python still points to the EoL, unsupported Python 2, while usr/bin/python3 is Python 3 (on recent-enough macOS).

While some parts are out of date, I suggest reading the official tutorial, which describes how to obtain a recent Python version and general recommendations for using Python on macOS. Then, download either the latest official Python.org Python, Python via homebrew (brew install python3), or Anaconda Python, and going from there.

Best of luck!

1 Like

On macOS /usr/bin/python and /usr/bin/python3 are system binaries that cannot be changed by users. /user/bin/python is python2, /usr/bin/python3 is an alias for the Python 3 installation in Xcode or the Xcode Command Line Tools.

Other installations of Python, such as the python.org installer and homebrew, cannot change the binaries in /usr/bin/. You’ll have to adjust your shell’s PATH to use the installation that you intend to use.