Use Flask to set a Boolean parameter according to whether of two buttons has been pressed

Hi,
I’m a beginner with Flask, and I have difficulty managing its relationship with HTML. I’m dealing with the improvement of existing code.
I have an HTML page containing two buttons that tentatively are coded like this:

<a href="{{ url_for('report', rowData=test_id) }}"><button class="btn"><i class="fa fa-download"></i> Download 1</button></a>
<a href="{{ url_for('report', rowData=test_id) }}"><button class="btn"><i class="fa fa-download"></i> Download 2</button></a>

This is related to two Python files: home.py contains the main Flask entry point

@app.route("/", methods=['GET', 'POST'])
def index():

and then the rows

@app.route("/report/report/<rowData>")
def report(rowData):
	rep_file_name = rep.generate(rowData)
	return send_file(rep_file_name, as_attachment=True)

while report.py implements the generate function, def generate(test_id).

I am struggling to differentiate the two buttons in order to send to report.py an additional Boolean parameter: if I press the Download 1 button the variable should be set to False, while if I press the Download 2 button the variable should be set to True. I’ve made several attempts but I keep getting errors. Could you please help me?
The code is much more complicated thant that; I hope I have provided the bare minimum of information sufficient to understand the issue, but if not, I am ready to provide further details.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Thanks in advance,
Alessia

Hmm, you have buttons inside links. That may be a bit problematic, especially if this ends up inside a form. I would recommend either using buttons or using links (<a href>, not the <link> tags that go in the head).