Using keyboard in my program

Hi guys, I’m new to python and today I want to add keyboard support to my program, namely the ability to exit the program by pressing ‘esc’, but it’s isn’t work, a screenshot will tell you more about it.
python code

Two tips:

1. It’s best not to use screenshots on technical forums (various reasons, eg not searchable, not accessible for some users)

2. Try to include all relevant context. In this case, presumably you’ve imported the keyboard module but rather than have people guess or have to ask you to clarify, just give the context up front.

Hope you get the issue figured out :+1:

1 Like

The condition on line 5 will always be true because when you say value == "this" or "that" it’s interpreted as (value == "this") or "that", and "that" is treated as true. Try converting sel_num to lowercase and then doing a single comparison.

On line 8 it’ll wait for you to maybe type something, but then press Enter. It’ll then check to see whether Escape is being pressed at that time, which is unlikely! The simplest fix would be to cancel if no user name is entered, i.e. just press Enter and nothing else.

1 Like

Ohh, okay, i will remember that.

1 Like

Yeah i notice that, now I tried to fix that. Thanks for that

Regarding line 8, indeed the program was waiting for “Enter”, but the program gave an error that I entered the wrong user.

I replaced Escape, to enter, but the program continued to work after entering enter

I tried to replace the if == to if != and it worked. Very illogical (at least for me, but it worked)

In line 5, there is no way to do what you suggested to do, which is to convert sel_num to lowercase and then doing single comparison. I know that there is a function “lower” in python, but I don’t understand how to use it in my case, i tried to do something like that,

if sel_num.lower == “Add new user”:

I know this can’t work, but i tried. Any ideas what to do?

To call a function or method you need the parentheses: