Vote to promote Ammar Askar

Pablo and I would like to propose promoting Ammar Askar as a core developer.

Note from Zach Ware

I have been mentoring Ammar on-and-off since February 2019 when they reached out to me on IRC and I’ve personally been convinced of their readiness for promotion since November of 2019. Since the acceptance and merger of PEP 657 which they co-authored with Pablo and Batuhan, Ammar has now allowed me to put their name forward for promotion :slight_smile:

Ammar has been contributing since 2016; I granted the Developer role on bpo for issue triage in September 2016. A fairly complete accounting of Ammar’s contributions, including links to the evidence, can be found in a doc they put together.

From my own experience with them, Ammar has always been easy to work with, encouraging and helpful in reviewing others’ PRs, receptive to feedback on their own PRs, and has shepherded several PRs from others through to merge by reviewing them and then bringing them to my (or others’) attention when ready to merge.

Note from Pablo Galindo Salgado