What is the difference between a list syntax and a tuple syntax?

Hey I just started learning 3 days ago, and now I’ve made it to the list and tuples section
although this is a legit question, the other purpose of this post is to get acquainted with the python community as a sort of introduction.

Onto the question, in the video I noticed the example for list was

listtA = [5, 10, 15, 20]

however, the example for tuples was

listA =['name ', 'date ', 'city ', 'state ', 'country ’ ]

do to this i am lead to belive the only difference between the two syntaxs is the quotation. am i correct ?

No, that is also a list:

>>> t = ('name', 'date', 'city', 'state', 'country')
>>> type(t)
<class 'tuple'>

Though it should be noted that the round brackets are not explicitly needed, what makes a tuple is simply the commas. People often wrap it with round brackets to separate the data from other things, or simply because our brains like it better that way :upside_down_face:.

>>> t = 'name', 'date', 'city', 'state', 'country'
>>> type(t)
<class 'tuple'>
1 Like

so for clarification

listA = (‘name’ , ‘city’ , ‘state’)

is a tuple because of the ’ i put around each word ?

also thanks for the quick reply !!

From my notes:

List

A list is simply a sequence of values stored in a specific order with each value identified by its position in that order.

A list must be finite. List items are separated by commas and surrounded by square brackets.

Number List
even_numbers = [2,4,6,8,10]

Word List
words = ['the','cat','sat','on','the','mat']

String List
>>> list (‘Hello!’)
['H', 'e', 'l', 'l', 'o', '!']

Lists are …

• ordered
    • the items have a defined order, and that order will not change.
  • indexed
    • the first item has index [0], the second item has index [1] etc.
  • changeable
    • meaning that we can change, add, and remove items in a list after it has been created.

If you add new items to a list, the new items will be placed at the end of the list.