What new Reference or Explanation would usefully reduce confusion?

As a developer of apps in Python, I am a novice to packaging. I have just started to educate myself. I had serious misunderstandings at first about how sdist/wheel build tools interact with declarative project metadata — the world of PEP 517, PEP 518, and pyproject.toml. (For instance, see my Discuss thread about “frontend” and “backend” and my StackOverflow question about shiv and pex and “pyproject”.)

What new Reference or Explanation would usefully reduce confusion? I am asking to see if there is a consensus about the scope of new documents that would be helpful in today’s stage of packaging evolution.

See below for ideas.

1 Like

The main need I see is for a Reference (in the Diàtaxis sense) about the interaction of tools for building source distributions and wheels with declarative project metadata. Right now, PEP 517’s Build backend interface seems to be the authority on this. PEP 517’s Terminology and goals contributes. Part of what is not clear in PEP 517 is that the scope of “build” is narrow, limited to sdists and wheels. This confused me and some others.

Also, I don’t see a PyPA Specification which really describes the pyproject.toml file. There is a PyPA Declaring build system dependencies specification, but it is a stub which refers out to PEP 518. PEP 518 defines the pyproject.toml file overall, and the [build-system] and [tool] tables therein. PEP 517 defines the build-backend key in the [build-system] table. The Pypa Declaring project metadata specification describes the metadata parts of pyproject.toml well, but not the basic format or the [build-system] and [tool] tables.