Where to place custom module?

I’m still new to learning Python. I have Python 3.9 on Windows 10. I have not learned yet how to make modules.

I’m making a custom module crutil.py which has many functions that I will use in many programs. My crutil.py will be used by many programs in many directories. So it should not go in the same directory as my main program.

• Where is the proper place to put crutil.py?
  • Is it ok if I put just crutil.py in %PYTHONHOME%/lib?
  • I don’t need to install it via pip. It will not be released to the public.
  • Is it required that I make a new directory for my file under %PYTHONHOME%/lib? Like crutil/crutil.py. Because the docs mention I have to make an empty file __init__.py in that directory so the module is treated as a module.
  • This crutil.py module will eventually be used on the MS Azure ecosystem which appears to update Python automatically every so often. I don’t know how often.

Why are you using the very old python 3.9? Using 3.12, or 3.11, would be better.

As for where you put your library modules, I would not recommend using PYTHONHOME as that is controlled by the python installation.

You could create your own folder for your python modules and add it to PYTHONPATH. That way when you upgrade python you will not lose access to your modules.

The tutorial I’m doing is using 3.9. And I found some things the author did which did not work in 3.12. So I’m keeping it to 3.9 for the duration of the tutorial I’m doing.

There are many possible “proper places”.