Which Python-supported database supports regex?

I’m using Python 3.11 on Windows 10 but my production programs will end up on the MS Azure eco system. I’m still a bit new to Python.

Requirements

1. It should be a database that is supported by Python, does not have a server that needs to be installed (Azure won’t allow some things in some cases).
  2. It should support regex.
  3. I will be dealing with 100,000 records at some point in the future.

Notes

Azure has many different parts and many ways to implement a Python program. The most expensive is a full server deployment which I’m trying to avoid. This is why I have my requirements above. I’m trying to use a Function App or Function App Service to deploy my Python programs. But I don’t yet have enough information about using Azure at this time to know for sure, as I’m a noob when it comes to Azure.

EDIT: Azure supports SQL Server but it does not support regex natively. Something else has to be installed to support regex.

I did not see that sqlite3 supported regex. Mongo db seems to require a server component to be installed.

I don’t have to use SQL to get the records, my last resort is persistent storage like shelve and loop through records myself using Python regex but then I don’t have fields per se I can select on, or implementing a field-like structure would be tedious.

Thank you!

According to the official release log (SQLite Release 3.36.0 On 2021-06-18) it seems to include a regex extension by default in cli builds.

And PostgreSQL seems to support regex too [1]

1. there are likely more db systems, I can only recomend using Google to find them ↩︎

Yes, Postgresql does support a regex operator, I use it sometimes. But it requires a server component to be installed, which I’m trying to avoid.

Is the CLI version supported by Python? I’m still new to Python.

You don’t have many options if you want to avoid having a server.