Why are .env files considered secure if they are plain text files?

I’m still new to Python. I’ve been investigating how best to securely store passwords. I read that the best practice is storing passwords and other connection info, like to an SMTP server, is putting them in a plain text file called .env then using the module python-dotenv to read the data into environment variables.

1. Am I missing something? Is the password in the plain text .env file supposed to be encrypted, or can it be in plain text? I have found 3 examples of using the .env files and none of them used encryption.
  2. Why does plain text work in this case?

EDIT: My test environment is my laptop. My production environment will be Python, likely in a Function App, in the Azure ecosystem. I’m not positive about using the Function App but it does support Python. The bigger problem is I have to use Azure, and let people drag and drop one or more files for the Python program to handle. And I haven’t figured out the drag’n’drop part yet. Which will probably involve Javascript.

If someone has access to your system, it doesn’t matter if it’s plain text or encrypted. The only point is the keys/passwords/tokens should not be part of VCS (i.e. git) and shouldn’t be uploaded, whereas the code that uses the files could be uploaded.

4 Likes

I do not have a .env file and its sounds like bad advice to put passwords and other sensitive info into one. It is not “best practice”, who suggested it was?

If you have full-disk-encryption then at-rest your password in .env will not be accessible.
But if you are not encrypting then anyone that has your machine has your passwords.

Usually an email program will store SMTP credentials encrypted in a wallet or keystore.

Hi Chuck!

(Edit: see later reply for the context the rest of this post applies to)