Why can't iterable unpacking be used in comprehension?

If you have

l = [[1,2,3],[4]]
[*b for b in d]

it gives

File "<stdin>", line 1
    [*b for b in d]
     ^
SyntaxError: iterable unpacking cannot be used in comprehension

Is there a specific reason for the inability?

3 Likes

Notice!! I’m not an expert actually I only started a few days ago, but I did some research and this is what I found
that is only available in calls and when using assignments
I linked the reference below, I hope it helps

1 Like

I don’t think that there is a specific reason, just the way the language has evolved. Comprehensions and iterable unpacking were added at different times.

See this thread here:

https://mail.python.org/archives/list/python-ideas@python.org/message/7G732VMDWCRMWM4PKRG6ZMUKH7SUC7SH/

where supporting that is unpacking in comprehensions is discussed.

At this point, I expect all it will take is:

• someone to get a core developer to sponsor the idea;
  • and then write a PEP;
  • I expect that the Steering Council will probably accept it;
  • then do the work.

If nobody wants to do the work, or write the PEP, it won’t happen.

I saw this, the accepted answer just says you can’t use iterable unpacking here

I came here because I thought it should be added to the language. But, is it really a worthwhile feature to have?

I can only think of using it to flatten 2d lists/tuples.

I.e. something like [[1,2,3],[10,87]] into [1,2,3,10,87]

Note that you can have multiple levels of iteration in a comprehension

a = [[1, 2, 3], [4]]
[c for b in a for c in b]
# [1, 2, 3, 4]
4 Likes

The following recursive function is designed to flatten a list of any depth. Admittedly, it is not the same as what you are trying to do, since it uses a test and a base case outside the list comprehension.

def flatten(a):
    return [c for b in a for c in flatten(b)] if hasattr(a, '__iter__') else [a]

print(flatten([[1, [2, [3, 4, 5], 6], 7], [8, 9, [10, [[[[11]]]], 12]], 13]))

output: