Why do these 2 codes should work similiarly but don't?

1st code:

number = ["Python" , "Java" , "R" , "C" , "PHP", "Python" , "Java" , "R" , "C" , "PHP"]
num = []
for x in number:
    if not x in num:
        num += x
print(num)

result : [‘P’, ‘y’, ‘t’, ‘h’, ‘o’, ‘n’, ‘J’, ‘a’, ‘v’, ‘a’, ‘R’, ‘C’, ‘P’, ‘H’, ‘P’]

2nd code :

number = ["Python" , "Java" , "R" , "C" , "PHP", "Python" , "Java" , "R" , "C" , "PHP"]
num = []
for x in number:
    if not x in num:
        num.append(x)
print(num)

result :[‘Python’, ‘Java’, ‘R’, ‘C’, ‘PHP’]

please help i’m new to python

I tried to understand but I didn’t so I came here to understand.
I expected both their results to be the same…

Using += where the LHS is a list is equivalent to the list’s .extend method, not its .append method.

The .extend method iterates over its argument, and iterating over a string yields the characters of the string (as strings).

1 Like

Thanks, you don’t know how much this means to me bro, I asked the same question on Stack overflow and got flagged for a duplicate for a question about something else and the post got downvoted. Thank you for your help and time given

It’s important to understand that Stack Overflow is not for getting personalized help with an issue, discussing an example, being tutored, etc. Stack Overflow is for asking a clear, specific question, which involves:

• Asking a question in the post itself (not just the title)
  • Explaining your reasoning
  • Giving the question a title that describes what you’re asking about (as a rule: try not to use the word “this” or “these”, because the point is to know what kind of problem it is before looking at any code. Try to think of what you would want the page to look like, if you found it with a search engine. Try to think about what it would need to look like, so that you could find it with a search engine.)