Why is cpython multiprocessing using named semaphores?

Hello everyone,

according to cpython/Modules/_multiprocessing/semaphore.c at a03ec20bcdf757138557127689405b3a525b3c44 · python/cpython · GitHub, multiprocessing.SemLock is always using a named semaphore, created with sem_open. In regular glibc environments, this may not be a relevant factor as the number of named semaphores is only limited by system resources. However when using musl (as done e.g. by alpine), only the POSIX-Default of at most 256 semaphores per process is supported.

This problem can be seen in Python multiprocessing No file descriptors available error inside docker alpine - Stack Overflow - basically limiting the available Queues on these platforms. So is there a reason for CPython to use named posix semaphores, especially as the names of them are randomly generated (Lib/multiprocessing/synchronize.py, line 122).

Note that I am not a particular expert in C or POSIX semaphores, but maybe in-memory-semaphores would be an option too, which would not require a call to sem_open.

Thanks for your opinions,
prauscher

How can you pass anonymous semaphores between unrelated processes? See the SemLock.rebuild method.

1 Like

This is a platform problem. Musl, or at least Alpine, should do something about their limitation.

As Antoine noted, these are passed between processes via pickle which uses that rebuild method to reconstruct them in the other process.

1 Like

Thanks for pointing the rebuild using pickle out to me. What is not yet clear to me is why a Semaphor needs to be pickled for transfer to a child-process? As far as I know, multiprocessing-Objects using Semaphor like Queue etc may only inherited from the parent process, not transported via IPC, or am I missing something here?

In this case, unnamed semaphores would be enough, right?