How to let Pycharm find my own custom modules?

I’m new to Python. Config: Python 3.12, Pycharm 2023.3.2, on Windows 10 Pro.

I know very little about modules as I just learned about them from a tutorial. I made a small custom module. I put it in c:\users<username>\Pycharm Projects. The module is just named “util.py”. But when I open a new blank .py file and type “import” a list of modules pop up, and mine is not in there, so it’s not possible to enter “import util”.

What do I need to set up to import my own util.py file?

Thank you!

EDIT: I created util.py manually in that directory using a text editor. Perhaps I created it all wrong and should go through Pycharm to do that. But I don’t know how to create a module through Pycharm.

Edit 2: This util.py file will be used by many projects later.

Hi !

You should specify where you’re trying to import util.py from. Is it from the same project, or another one ? From a file at the same hierarchical level ?
Also, note that not because PyCharm doesn’t propose a module as a suggestion doesn’t mean it cannot be imported when running the code. A good example would be if you modify sys.path at runtime.

This util.py file will be used by many projects later

If you want to use this file in many projects, your best option is to make a package out of it. This way, you’ll be able to install it in the Python environment associated with each of your projects, and PyCharm (or any other IDE) will be able to provide support for it.

For guidelines on how to package a Python project, you can refer to this very nice resource:

Note that packaging your util.py file will require you to write at least a second file (pyproject.toml), I don’t think you can currently distribute a single Python file as a module. If I understood correctly, this will change once PEP 723 (PEP 723 – Inline script metadata | peps.python.org) gets implemented,

1 Like