How to make an addition operetion using f-strings?

Hello everyone, python newbie here.

Just started learning python and been wondering if I can make addition operations using f-string.
Learned about f-strings with this example:
name = “John”
age = 23
cash = 50
f"{name} is {age} years old and has {cash} bucks on his pocket."

But if I try to use:
n1 = input(“First number:”)
n2 = input(“Second number:”)
f"The result is {n1}+{n2}"
Then I just get an “invalid syntax” error. Been trying to fiddle around with it but everything end up way too long for my taste, and feels kinda weird because the f-string was supposed to make everything compact, right?

I appreciate any help on this matter. Thanks for your time!

Remeber that, by default, any input will return a string. So either convert numbers at the input or before any calculations.

I prefer to be a little more verbose when naming variables: intN1 intN2 for example and assign correctly, as in intN1 = int(input("First number: "))

n1 = input("First number:")
n2 = input("Second number:")
print(f"The result of {n1}+{n2} is",int(n1)+int(n2))

# or...

n1 = int(input("First number:"))
n2 = int(input("Second number:"))
print(f"The result of {n1}+{n2} is",n1+n2)
1 Like

@rob42 Thank you very much for the help and the tips! Much appreciated!!

No worries; glad to be of help.

One more tip: numbers as a string are fine if you don’t plan on using them for calculations, as in your example age = 23, but again, I’d be a little more verbose: strAge = '23'. The reason being that when you get a script that is 100s of lines in length, it can be of help to know how a variable has been assigned, simply by how it’s been named.

1 Like

That works, but the calculation and the subsequent formatting of the sum occur outside the bounds of the f-string.

The following includes the calculation and the formatting of the entire output within the f-string:

print(f"The result of {n1} + {n2} is {n1 + n2}.")
2 Likes

Sorry, I see. Yes that’s better.