Json.loads only returns names but not the values

Hi everyone
Tho I have lots of programming experience, I’m new to python and, of course, spyder. I have been following some youtube tutorial videos and now am trying out some api calls. I’m using Spyder 5.5.1

Here’s the code:

import requests
import json
response = requests.get("https://jsonplaceholder.typicode.com/todos/1")
print(response.status_code)
print(response.text)
res = json.loads(response.text)
for data in res:
    print(data)

Here’s the output:

200 ← status code is good

Next is the output of the full json file and that looks good too:

{
“userId”: 1,
“id”: 1,
“title”: “delectus aut autem”,
“completed”: false
}

Here’s the problem – it’s showing the name but not the value from the file. How come?:

userId
id
title
completed

Thanks!

The for data in res iterates over the keys in the dictionary res. To get the values, you would need to ask res using data, as in

for data in res:
    print(f'{data} : {res[data]}')

A better option would be to do

for key, value in res.items():
    print(f'{key=}, {value=}')

… if you are sure that the response is going to be key-value pairs, and not a list.

1 Like

See also

This is nothing to do with JSON. It’s how dicts work in Python.

See:

(@bschubert 's link is the usual recommendation, but it’s phrased in terms of understanding how the code is understood by Python; I tried to find one that’s focused on understanding how to write the code.)

1 Like