Pypi name taken, advice

Story:

I’ve been maintaining a project on github for a couple of years now. It’s been a big learning project for me, not just with the code of the project itself but with python in general and working with github. I’ve had users suggest putting it on pypi so it can be installed via pip, which I thought was a good idea, I just needed to spend the time to fully understand what I was doing before uploading it. I played around with the pypi sandbox for a bit to get my feet wet but never got around to committing to this.

Advice needed:

In the meantime, a user had forked my repo, then took my project name on pypi for their fork. I’m trying to work this out privately, I don’t know if we’ll be able to come to terms on this, we’ll see.

Anyone have any thoughts on the situation? It seems like a jerk move to take a project name for your own fork but maybe I’m crazy, I don’t know the etiquette here. If this can’t be worked out, is there anything I can do? Should I be doing anything, or would you consider this a case of “you snooze you lose”?

Thanks for any advice

2 Likes

Please file an issue at GitHub - pypi/support: Issue tracker for support requests related to using https://pypi.org if it gets to this point.

2 Likes

Don’t forget that the distribution name (the name you give to pip install) doesn’t necessarily have to be the same as the package name(s) (the name you give to import). Example:

pip install tensorflow-gpu scikit-learn
import tensorflow as tf, sklearn
1 Like

Hmm, didn’t think about the names not having to be the same. So knowing that, would I be the a-hole in forcing the issue? Or would the “right” thing to do is just move on and come up with a new/similar name for the project on pypi?

1 Like

If another package on PyPI has your name (your’s is the master repo), then there will be endless confusion about which version is the one from you.