Python output Terminal

Hello all, I am very new to coding and new to this community. I am using solo learn and Python Crash Course book to teach myself. I want a deer understanding of what I am learning. I don’t want to mindlessly enter code. I want to understand why things are happening. On solo learn they give an example on my things and I have noticed when I use VS code to enter the EXACT same thing often it does not work. Why? I find that my questions are very specific and very difficult to find the right information online. For example

email = input()
print(email)

My output on VS code is:

"/usr/local/bin/python3 /Users/shawnbrandon/Desktop/python_work/solo_learn2.py
shawnbrandon@shawns-mbp python_work % /usr/local/bin/python3 /Users/shawnbrandon/Desktop/python_work/solo_learn2.py
/usr/local/bin/python3 /Users/shawnbrandon/Desktop/python_work/solo_learn2.py
/usr/local/bin/python3 /Users/shawnbrandon/Desktop/python_work/solo_learn2.py
shawnbrandon@shawns-mbp python_work %

`

If I enter print('hello") that has an output. Why does this work and not the other. Can anyone help. I don’t want to skip over this. I truly want to underhand so I can grow into this new thing that I have been enjoying so far learning. Thank you all and if I am not doing this post right please let me know. First post on here.

Hi Shawn.

When you run this code:

email = input()
print(email)

What do you know about that code and what it is doing?

I ask, so that I can assess your understanding, because you’re saying (or what I think that you’re saying) that the code is not working.

I understand why you’re asking and thank you for taking the time.

I made the variable “email” ask for an input from the user.
then print(email). should print the variable in the output terminal so that the user can put their email in the output (terminal). Correct?

thanks again

You’re welcome.