Steering Council nomination: Gregory P. Smith (2023 term)

I’m self nominating myself for re-election. Y’all granted me the pleasure of serving my first term on the Python Steering Council during 2022. I’ve been doing the active Python committer thing for 20 years. :sweat_smile:

You may know me as @gpshead on various platforms. Or just as the one wearing a colorful shirt. :hibiscus: :tshirt:

What do I want to accomplish?

Refresh one’s memory of our mandate & powers in PEP 13 every cycle. Our role on the steering council is fundamentally to serve you, the committers.

You choose us to be the release cycle decider anytime something in need of a major decision maker comes up. That does not mean council members are know it all experts. Far from it! What it means is that we’re looking to see that the real experts (you :mirror:) provide enough reasoned contextual input for us to be able to make rational decisions. Which can and should include us delegating specific decision powers to others at times so that we’re not the bottleneck.

Priorities

These are mostly guided by you.

When our plate is full, the first thing I encourage us to prioritize are people issues as those impact the health and progress of all of us on the project. Followed by things that we can find quick consensus on an unblock. The longer term larger topics remain on our agenda but we mustn’t go down the rabbit hole with no resolution on them forever.

When something has been on our agenda for ages without a resolution, the default is “the status quo continues”. Which may not be a bad thing, but indicates that we really need to communicate back better about what is missing and why we haven’t decided. Including realizing if we should declare the status quo to be the answer with an explanation as to why.