Steering Council nomination: Gregory P. Smith (2024 term) 🗳️

I nominate myself for re-election to the Python Steering Council for the 2024 term.

I have been serving on the SC for the past two years. With your trust and permission, I’ll be happy to continue in this role for a third.

If elected, this will be my third Python Steering Council term. I have been a committer for over 20 years now (emoji_choice = “😲”). Thank you all for having me! Many of you have met me in person at CPython core dev sprints including autumn-2022 one I hosted at Google. You probably also know me as @gpshead on relevant platforms.

Stability

My guiding principle for the upcoming 2024 / 3.13 term aside from representing your own consensus: Focus on stability to enable the PEP-703 free-threading initial experimental phase to succeed at gaining broad community testing. This means I expect to lean towards being conservative on decisions around API changes in places where it seems likely to cause a burden for those who’ve gotten their code and all of their transitive deps working on 3.12 to get said code working on 3.13. The more we can help our users be able to try out free-threading, the greater useful experience information and chance of success it has.

Rereading the governance PEP-13 that defines the Steering Council to refresh in my mind on what our mandate is, here are some things it mentions that I feel particularly aligned with.

• “focus on quality and stability” – see above.
  • “seek consensus among contributors and the core team before acting” - A guiding star. This is how y’all define what I and the rest of the council do.
  • “delegate … to other subcommittees or processes” – this year could involve guidance to help smooth out operations of our newly approved Typing Council and C API Working Group.