Steering Council nomination: Thomas Wouters (2020 term)

I’m nominating myself for the Steering Council (2020 term).

For those who don’t know me:

• I’ve been a core developer since 2000, albeit with varying levels of activity.
  • I was the first non-Warsaw to author a PEP (other than PEP 1), and the first to author a rejected PEP (an achievement of which I’m still very proud).
  • I’ve served on the PSF Board of Directors several times (2001-2004, 2017-2019).
  • I worked at XS4ALL until 2006, and arranged for many python.org services to be hosted there.
  • I joined Google in 2006, where I work on the (internal) Python team. As people may be aware of, Google is a big user of Python, but we do things a little different than most Python users, internally. I have a lot of experience with the C API, embedding CPython, and weird ways to install or bundle CPython.
  • I’m (as Yhg1s) fairly active on the #python IRC channel on Freenode, which I administer (with a bunch of other people) and which we consider an official PSF channel.
  • I’m somewhat active on Twitter (also as Yhg1s).

To be sure, I’m not running to oppose anything the Steering Council has done in terms of language direction, governance or the structure around it. I think they’ve all done a great job, and I wouldn’t mind the same council continuing the development of the role and setting the standard for future councils. I want to help out where I can, though, which is why I’m nominating myself for the next council.

Some of the things I know the council has worked on and I want to explicitly support:

• Outreach, diversity, inclusiveness, conduct. The longevity of the language, the CPython implementation and the community as a whole depends on these, and it deserves all the attention we can give it.