Syntax Error in Python 3.10 when running on Terminal

Hey guys,
I’m new to Python & I tried to run my 1st Python script (“Hello World”) on the terminal using Python 3.10.
After access to the location of the py file, I tried to run it using:
“Python .py” - but I got the following SyntaxError:
“Leading zeros in decimal integer literals are not permitted; use an 0o for octal integers”.

Appreciating your assistace.

Thanks

Hello, @PythonGuy you need to input the name of the python file (.py) to terminal.

• Make helloworld.py file with this code below:
print("Hello World")
  • Go to the path/location of the file:
cd C:\path\to\file  # Windows
cd ~/path/to/file # Linux
  • Execute the file with this command:
python helloworld.py
  • Your code will output:
'Hello World'

You can learn more from official tutorial:
https://docs.python.org/3/tutorial/index.html
or beginner free book here:
https://automatetheboringstuff.com/

Thanks but this is what I did exactly and got the syntax error previously mentioned:
C:\Python310\Exfiles>Python helloworld.py

use lowercase python helloworld.py

I did but with the same error

can you show the code of helloworld.py?

and use the <\> toolbar in the editor to highlight your code like this:

```
type or copy paste your code here
```
1 Like

I think, just writing helloworld.py will execute the file.(You must be inside the dir -where your file exists- in terminal, as @gunungpw has already mentioned about.)

Hi Gunung, thanks for trying to help, but you have given three answers that don’t have anything to do with the poster’s problem. He is not having trouble getting Python to look at the script, he is getting a SyntaxError, which means that Python has looked at the script and found a syntax error (invalid code) in the file.

PythonGuy, look at the SyntaxError you get:

“Leading zeros in decimal integer literals are not permitted; use an 0o for octal integers”.