TypeError: can only concatenate str (not "Timedelta") to str

def maximum(wc_slab, shot_times):
    max_values = []
    max_values_index = []

for time in shot_times:
        window = wc_slab[time:min(time + pd.Timedelta(minutes=10), len(wc_slab))]  
        max_value = max(window)
        max_value_index = np.argmax(window) + time
        max_values.append(max_value)
        max_values_index.append(str(max_value_index))  # Convert the index to a string
    return max_values, max_values_index

max_values, max_values_index = maximum(watergifDataMerged['WC_slab1'], shot_times)

I want to retrieve the maximum value and on which time this occured of the wc_slab. And it is only allowed to search between two time points of shot_times but everytime I get this error: TypeError: can only concatenate str (not “Timedelta”) to str.
The time is notated in this way ‘18/01/2020 02:10’

I’m a basic programmer but can’t solve this problem, can anyone help me?

time + pd.Timedelta(minutes=10)

Here, time is a str while pd.Timedelta(minutes=10) returns a Timedelta. These objects cannot be added together, because str does not know what to do with a Timedelta, and Timedelta does not know what to do with a str.

I think you expected something like this

>>> '18/01/2020 02:10' + pd.Timedelta(minutes=10)  # Does not actually work.
'18/01/2020 02:20'

correct? To achieve this, convert the time string to a timestamp first

>>> ts = pd.Timestamp('18/01/2020 02:10') + pd.Timedelta(minutes=10)  # Does work.
>>> ts
Timestamp('2020-01-18 02:20:00')

which you can then convert back to a string, if that is what you need

>>> ts.strftime("%D/%m/%Y %H:%M")
'01/18/20/01/2020 02:20'

However, I wonder if that will actually do what you want. This slice

wc_slab[time : min(time + pd.Timedelta(minutes=10), len(wc_slab))]

does not look likely to work with str indices, especially since len(wc_slab) is definitely not str. What kind if thing is wc_slab, and how is it indexed?

Hi Alexander,