Absolute beginner have zero experience

So I use Linux mint as my main OS and I play around with Kali Linux in virtual box using other ppl’s programs, I have some basic to average command line skills in Linux but don’t know everything. I feel like if Im gonna learn a programming language to get better then using and learning python seems best. So I have some programs in Kali like Emacs, Vim etc… I have no clue how to even use these programs or even get started. Can I get help with which editor I should use for python and what lessons ? Thanks. Never done any programming.

IDLE, which comes with CPython, is aimed at beginners. I started with the tutorial in the Python docs, but I was experienced with other languages, so I cannot recommend anything else.

You may find Gedit or xed to be somewhat easier to use than Emacs or Vim, but each to their own and there are a few other text editors that are ‘Python aware’ (that is to say that you’ll get code highlighting and auto completion options), such as CudaText

As for the ‘learning python’ side of things, I’d say that motivation plays a huge part, so what is your motivation?

Also, are you a ‘watcher’ or a ‘reader’?

You could start with this Python Tutorial site. It’s a little dry and to the point, but it’s a very good reference site and one of my go to sites, even after years of Python coding, just to check on a function or a method.

1 Like

Err, that’s not the Python Tutorial (EDIT: as the use of Proper Case would imply), that’s just W3Schools :slight_smile:

You could start with the (official) Python Tutorial. Or, if you’d prefer something more beginner- and tutorial-focused but much higher quality than W3Schools (and similar sites like TutotialsPoint or Programiz…or, heaven forbid, shameless article mills like Geeks4Geeks), I find RealPython to be the best of that bunch.

3 Likes

Humm… given that the home page says " Python Tutorial", maybe you should contact the site and put them straight then.