Windows thinks I have a "newer installation of python" and wont let me install python

Im running windows 10 professional OS

I am a complete newb with this stuff so please keep that in mind when answering, I do not know any lingo, do not assume i understand anything!

I was using python to run stable diffusion from my machine and wanted to try cascade, I had an error trying to use cascade which I was told was caused by a faukty install of python, and that I could fix it by uninstalling all of the versions of python I had and reinstalling python 3.10.6 (I guess I need this specific version to run cascade and or automatic1111)

anyway, i had what looked like 3 installations of python, 2 of the 3 seemed to uninstall without issue, but the third did not…
Eventually after googling solutions i tried revo uninstall which did remove python from my “add remove apps” list
but I am unable to install Python 3.10.6 because when I try i get an error saying i have a newer installation of this already…

nothing works now, not cascade or automatic1111

I removed python.exe and python3.exe in cmd (another solution google offered up) from appdata/microsoftapps - still nothing

Yes I have tried restarting.

Please help!

It is supported to have multiple versions of python installed on windows.
Maybe the issue was that python 3.10 was not the version on the PATH?

When you look in the windows setting “add remove programs” do you see python 3.10 listed?

Did you always use the windows setting “add remove programs” uninstall options?

You say google pointed you to commands to delete files.
That advice sounds unwise.

Do you have the py.exe command still installed?
In a CMD terminal what does py -0 output?

Finally there is a stable diffusion easy install program that does all the hard work for you. I used that to bet my Son set up with stable diffusion a while ago.

2 Likes

stablediffusion was working wonderfully for me, it only stopped working when i uninstalled python (obv lol)